For first-time convictions, you will serve at least 10 days
in jail and pay at least $250 in fines. You'll also have
to attend an education class and possibly complete hours
of community service.
increase substantially with the severity of the intoxication
and the frequency of DUI convictions. Your second (or subsequent)
conviction will result in at least 90 days of jail time, at
least $500 in fines, and you'll lose your license for a whole
year. Community service, educational courses, and an ignition
interlock device (see below) might also be part of your sentence.
DUI, or having a BAC of 0.15% or more, will result
in much harsher penalties, even on a first conviction.
Worse for Minors
If you're under 21, the penalties are even more severe. Arizona
has adopted a Zero Tolerance stance with minors and drinking.
If you're found driving with any detectable amount of alcohol
or drugs in your system, your license will automatically be
suspended for 30 days.
As part of a program to discourage repeat offenders, Arizona
law allows the MVD to require a person convicted of one or
more DUIs to install an "ignition
interlock device," a vehicle-specific alcohol breath
test that immobilizes the vehicle until a measured breath
sample determines that that driver has not been drinking.
program is typically reserved for people who have been convicted
of multiple DUIs or whose BAC was 0.15% or higher at the time
of their arrest.
find listings for Vehicle Insurance companies see: DUIVehicleInsurance.com